Shopping the Basics: COS and & Other Stories

COS uniform

When it comes to daily dressing, I am very much a fan of a uniform. Or at least a sartorial guideline. Where to start? With the basics. Now I know there’s a lot of hate being thrown at “basic bitches” lately, but I don’t see where the problem is, at least not in the clothing department. Having done a post on basics before, this one might seem a bit repetitive. But after finally heading over to the COS and & Other Stories online shops and falling in love with nearly every single one of their products, I was super motivated to write a post about these incredibly chic brands. Not that they’re anything new. Both COS and & Other Stories are owned by H&M, but neither is as famous or as widespread as their big sister. However they do exceed in the aesthetics and the quality department. Most of the products are black, white, grey, navy or any such lovely non-color color that I adore. The cuts are simple but structured. Essentials, basically. Here are my top picks for a beyond basic wardrobe of basics. (I’ll stop with that word now).

The pictures above display my own personal daily uniform. Black skinnies, some kind of monochrome top, and a nice, well cut blazer/jacket. Instant sophistication. And with interchangeable pieces you never have to worry about what to wear (although I still find myself in that dilemma every morning). Both looks are from COS.

COS shirtdresses

Shirt dresses are everything. Everything. I love them and wish I had both of these from COS. Crisp and breezy, a great spin-off of the classic prep school boy look.

&otherstories coats

One can never have too many coats, jackets, blazers – whatever. There will always be an occasion for a great jacket. Or not. Wear one anyway. These picks are from & Other Stories. (I especially love the double-breasted ones).

&otherstories shoes

Shoes. Chelsea boots and loafers are my favorites. They go with everything and add instant polish. Extra points if they’re in a rich, creamy leather. Not only will they last longer, but they will look more expensive. And basics should really be invested in. They are meant to last for years.

&otherstories access

Lately I’ve fallen into some kind of pouch-obsession. Cosmetic bag, wallet, clutch, pencase, passport holder. There are countless uses for a chic little pouch. Always a welcome gift to give or receive. (Hint hint) (Or actually “hint hint” to all of the above products. My birthday is in April, so I guess Christmas is your next chance. But I’m always open to spontaneous presents ;) ).

