Move Your Muscles, Part I

Image via Vogue China

Image via Vogue China

Ah, summer. Days are longer, skin gets darker, hair gets lighter, people are happier…and smellier. Everything is rainbows and sunshine and people are farting glitter, yadda yadda yadda. Let’s save that for Pinterest. Perhaps it’s just my own personal gripe with summer, or it’s one that all pale, or all unemployed, or all pale unemployed individuals share. But the hot season and I do not get along. Blame it on my lack of appreciation for nights where I don’t have to wear socks to bed (which kind of scares me) or for months of free time that can be filled with long afternoons drinking coffees and cocktails on terraces, swimming in the lake for hours, returning home with a crisp tan (ha ha ha, good one, summer), and having the opportunity to tailor each and every moment, waking or sleeping, to my own whims and fancies. Sartorial trials of the summer aside (how does one dress when the Sahara looms outside?), I’m not the biggest fan of too much free time. And as a student with an entire summer’s worth of holidays before the begin of my Master’s studies, this is a big problem.

I like routines. I like lists. I like making lists of my routines. And so, for the summer of 2014, the first of many in my new home of Zürich, I have made a list of how to most productively use my days. All well and good, were it not for the fact that my schedule runs dry at about 1pm, right after I finished my morning workout routine. As the title of this post has already revealed, this topic is two-part. Part I focuses on the quite literal moving of muscles, that is, the just mentioned workout regimen. Part II, which shall follow in a few days, tackles my lack of creative muscle – the exact problem that has left my days uninspired and wasted from 1pm onwards.

Where were we? Ah, yes, summer. Along with lighter hair and whiter smiles and popsicles or whatever, bikini ready bodies are most commonly associated with summertime (the Victoria Secret Fashion show in December is the obvious exception). I’ll be blunt and just admit that when it comes to my own physical presence, I lean towards the vainer side of life. Not in the sense of “Wow, look how knackig my derriere is” but more in the way of “Swiss Guy, move the table, I need to do my leg lifts.” Luckily I really enjoy working out and trying new moves, new routines, new sports-inspired Fitnessblender videos (also on that list: Popsugar Fitness, Blogilates, Ballet Beautiful, kickboxing, yoga, and running at the gym). When I don’t do some kind of exercise for a few days, I get cranky and achy. Summers are made for doing calf raises while looking out the window at the drunk passersby.

It goes without saying that when you stick with it, you will see results. Working out is fun, sweating is fun, and seeing results that please you is even more fun. Until my classes start up again in September, I’m looking forward to moving my muscles and using this free time in a way that benefits my body. For ways to exercise your mind, stay tuned for Part II.

yoga

Image via Vogue China

Image via Vogue China

Image via Vogue China

Image via Vogue China

