French Pharmacy Beauty Haul

IMG_3223

Okay, so we’ve all had these moments, right? It’s late. You’ve had one a few drinks too many, for instance, and you get home. Your New Year’s resolutions dictate that you will remove all of your makeup and wash your face before going to bed. In the bathroom you take a look in the mirror. What. Is. That!?!? You lean forward for closer inspection and find, well, anything. And so you commence to use any kind of tool or chemical you have available to remove the unsightly blemish that is smiling mischievously on your face. Bad idea. Always a bad idea.

In attempt to take better care of my skin and finally get rid of those little unsightly blackheads (my skin looks and feels like a poppyseed bagel. Yeah. There’s an image for ya) I went on a massive French Pharmacy skincare haul at my local pharmacy, one that thankfully carries a great selection of products. Naturally I did my research ahead of time and figured out that the La Roche-Posay Effaclar toner is pretty well reviewed, as is the Avène Cleanance K treatment cream. I had to get a new toner since for the past few weeks I’ve been applying a part-water/part-apple cider vinegar tincture on to my face. Weird, but effective. But also leaves you smelling like vinegar. Confused Swiss Guy for a while, too.

Add in a can of the awesome awesome awesome thermal water spray from La Roche-Posay (the Avéne one is nice as well, however I prefer the way the LRP one sprays). The pharmacist went crazy with samples from both of these brands, so along with the products on the pictures I’ll be a happy little guinea pig for those samples as well. Hopefully in a few weeks I will emerge with a poreless visage.

I add the classic Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse dry oil to my evening routine (after the Vichy Normaderm Nuit) for some moisture and glow-inducing properties. And I just have to mention how amazing this oil smells. I want to douse all my clothing and sheets in it and, of course, drench my entire body with it. It’s that great. Oh, and the bottle is pure luxury as well.

IMG_3226 IMG_3231 IMG_3235 IMG_3236

