Berlin Street Style: A Guide to Urban Chic

IMG_2832

 

A few days ago while strolling down Zürich’s Bahnhofstrasse, basking in the glorious sunlight and sipping on a soy latté, and doing some very crucial window shopping (only window shopping, but mentally adding things to my “To Buy” list), Swiss Guy took me to the English-speaking bookstore for some browsing. As always I scanned the fiction section, the cookbooks, the pile of American sweets that were lying around (oh Reese’s, how I miss thee). Saving the best for last is a policy that I’ve adapted to many facets of my life, even while book shopping. By the time I ventured over to the Fashion/Beauty/Lifestyle/Coffee books section, I was hungry for something beautiful and pleasing to the eye.

The selection was slim (“read that, read that, saw that, how much does that cost?”). But then. Then I saw the beautiful white book with leopard-print-like splashes of red and yellow. Demurely written on the cover: ‘Berlin Street Style: A Guide to Urban Chic.’ It is the Berlin edition of the now widely available and absolutely delicious ‘Paris Street Style: A Guide to Effortless Chic.’

I’ve always considered myself, or at least aspired to be, in the “effortless” category more than in the “urban” category. Or to be completely blunt: I yearn to be mistaken for a chic Parisian more than a woman from Berlin. Always ready to judge a book by it’s cover, I simply considered Berlin to be rough, less refined and more utilitarian than their French counterparts. Never having been to Berlin makes me the obvious authority on this (ho ho ho).

In spite of hesitations about my desires to be urban chic, I bought the book because a) I want to complete the (so far) two book series of these style guides and b) I can’t abandon a window shopping trip without something to show for it. Makes sense, non? But I guess my instincts came through on this one: the book is amazing. Not just the layout, which is airy, simplistic, and easy to read, but also the content. Surprisingly, I identify with about 89% of the philosophies contained in this definitely chic little style guide. So much so, that I will be focusing on a series of sections in upcoming blog posts (think: key items of clothing, fashion faux pas, beauty products – all à la Berlin). Below you’ll find a preview of some of the most intriguing sections. Keep coming back to le petit matin to find out more!

IMG_2838IMG_2842 IMG_2843 IMG_2844 IMG_2845

