A succulent, Chinese Birthday Meal

IMG_2702

It is my great honor and pleasure to call two of the best people in the world my friends. Momo and Rorz, their now officially established nicknames, are simply wonderful. A few days ago we went out to pre-celebrate my birthday and the end of our last semester together at university. And what better way to fete such a momentous event than with a succulent Chinese meal at Karen’s Unicorn in Edinburgh?

The food was absolutely delicious. I wish I could tell you exactly what it was that we all ordered, but my memory and knowledge of such cuisine are both vague entities. I know I ordered something with awesome thick noodles, Rorz had a dish with beancurd and roasted cashews and Momo something involving chicken, since she is the only carnivore amongst the three of us.

For appetizers we enjoyed dried seaweed (or kelp? Is there a difference?) and mushroom skewers in an amazing peanut sauce. Everything was so tasty and awesome, especially the birthday gifts that my dear friends showered me with. A fabulous night, the perfect preparation for traveling to Basel in the morning. As I write this I am sitting in Swiss Guy’s flat in Zürich (while he drinks a cold cup of coffee…these are important details), ready to continue our collective birthday celebrations tonight. Swiss style.

IMG_2694

IMG_2696 IMG_2701 IMG_2703

The gang.

The gang.

Momo and I.

Momo and I.

 

 

